Showing posts with label dry shampoo review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label dry shampoo review. Show all posts

Monday, February 1, 2016

Detox

It finally happened.

I bought the Drybar Detox dry shampoo.

And it was EVERYTHING I hoped it would be. You guys, Drybar rocks. Their products are amazing. The smell is unbeatable. I am stretching my washes further than I ever have.

I should probably consider changing the name of this blog to "We mostly talk about dry shampoo." That would be a little lengthy... and not entirely true... but I realize my obsession with finding the perfect one has gotten out of control in the past year.

But now... I can't honestly say that I think we've landed. For me anyways. I know smell is a personal thing and what I may see as amazing...someone else may see as mediocre. So there's that. But speaking for quality, this product is NOT lacking.


 
Here is the breakdown:
 
Pros
Extreme volume
Absorbs oil
Smells amazing
Smell lasts throughout day/night
 
Cons
$20-23 depending on where  you purchase
...that's it.
 
 
I have mentioned before that I feel like $20 and up seems to be a lot to spend on a product that you are using practically every day (and that may only last about a month), but I have to retract that statement for THIS product. It is worth every penny of not having to wash, blow dry and style my hair everyday. And THE SMELL. Yes please.
 
I have no idea why I waited so long. Don't make the same mistake I do.... get out there and buy this miracle spray, stat!
 
 
 
 

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

The Dry Shampoo Chronicles + a new (living proof) review


I love dry shampoo. I think it was one of the best inventions in the world. I feel driven to keep trying new products, though I have to say, I have tried a lot.

Instead of linking you back to the few reviews I have done, I will do a quick run down/mini review if you will.

Batiste Dry Shampoo: #1 in my heart and wallet. Reasonably priced, smells fresh and clean... and most importantly, works like a dream. Bonus: they have different kinds for different hair colors.

TreSemme "Fresh Start" Dry Shampoo (minus keratin): Great for drugstore options. I can't get any further than day 2 without it weighing my hair down. But... smells great and serves it's purpose for the price.

Moroccanoil Dry Shampoo: Decent product, very pricey. Smells delicious. However... I thought my hair looked more  "shiny" (read: greasy) at the end of the day.

Kenra Platinum Dry Shampoo: Eh. I always think Kenra smells yummy and I adore some of their other products ( blow out spray!) but this did not meet the mark. Too expensive and too sticky.

Sexy Hair Volumizing Shampoo: Sort of expensive. Felt more like I was spraying a lot of hairspray in my hair. I hated that I didn't have the movement that I get with others. 

It's a 10 Dry Shampoo: I desperately wanted to like this one. Like I always do. But it made my hair greasy. Literally EXTRA greasy. So essentially it did the exact opposite of what it was supposed to do. It does smell good though.

Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo: This stuff is a little more pricey than some... and claims a few new things such as the only dry shampoo on the market with no talc or aluminum. And yes.. it is a good shampoo. And it has a unique and lovely scent. But it's not amazing. And it's not that cheap.

So here we are. I tell myself to be satisfied with what I am using. There is no need to try a better, new product. Right..? But.. what if...?

Living Proof seems to be everywhere lately, and I have not used any of their products. I spent a strange amount of time reading the reviews for their dry shampoo "Perfect Hair Day," and could not get over the rave reviews.

Does anyone else love reading reviews? I keep hitting page after page..after page. A few comments that seemed to repeat and stand out involved "hair feeling extra clean" and the "amazing scent!" After the 10th page of reviews, I knew I would be trying it.

So I held out until 20% off Tuesday (Beauty First gold card member reference for all of you non Nebraska and/or Kansas and New Mexico folk ) and went ahead with the purchase.

And I have to say... I have never felt so let down by a purchase. I can typically find the good in a product. Either it smells great, or it makes my hair soft.. or.. something. But not with this stuff. For starters, my hair did not look any less greasy or more refreshed after I used it. And, ladies... I know how to use dry shampoo. I did the whole spray on problem areas, leave sitting, massage in with fingers, brush through... the whole shebang. When I realized five minutes later that my hair looked exactly the same... I thought I had to be missing something. I sprayed in more and repeated. It looked only slightly better.

And can we quickly discuss the smell? I am NOT a fan! It almost made me nauseous- it reminded me of actual cleaning supplies.

I don't like to give up though, so I worked out that night, brushed through my hair, slept on it- and repeated again this morning (day 3). At this point, my hair looks chalky (even after a brush through), feels stiff and dry, and is super static-y. And I think it goes without saying that I don't think my hair is smelling very good.

I am honestly upset that I bought a whole bottle of this and will probably keep using it until it's gone. I hate wasting!
I wish I could say that I am just going to go buy a bottle of my tried and true Batiste, but I have a few things on my radar.

1. Dry Bar Detox dry shampoo: I want to try this one badly... mostly because I am obsessed with the scent of their products.

2. Bumble & Bumble Pret a Powder shampoo: Also a fan of this line.

Does anyone have any insight into these? Any new favorites I must try? Because.. I will.

Until next time!

XOXO



Thursday, March 20, 2014

Dry Shampoo Wars

So, it turns out I have become obsessed with experimenting with dry shampoo. I have posted before about various dry shampoo products before... including non salon Suave products, Tigi Dirty Secret, straight up baking soda... I've been around the dry shampoo block a few times.

I have been using the Suave brand pretty religiously for over 6 months now because A) it smells so good and B) it works fairly good as well. But... I'm just over it. For whatever reason. I didn't feel like I was getting the results I needed and while I love how it smells, that's not a good enough reason anymore.

Enter my new experiments...

Last week I purchased it's a 10 Dry Shampoo and Conditioner in One. The sales rep recommended it as her favorite dry shampoo, and I take product recommendations seriously.
Honestly, I didn't read anything about the product. She said it smelled good (selling point) and worked wonders for her. 
So..here's my take. The first day, my hair seemed super shiny, but already a little greasy. I admit, it smelled great though! However that is not the job of a dry shampoo. Day two... we had a situation on our hands. And not a good one. Why did it look like I dipped my head in cooking oil?! Emergency hair wash. It's a 10 fail. 
So...here's the deal. I neglected to read that there is keratin in this product. Keratin, while a wonderful product, does not work for me. It makes my hair greasy and static-y...AND my naturally wavy hair wont hold a curl to save it's life when under the influence of keratin. 
So...if you have SUPER dry hair...this might be for you. I simply cannot do it and will never buy this product again. It's also a little bit pricey (I paid close to $22) and the combination of these qualities just did not work out for me. Sorry it's a 10... I LOVE your other products, but unfortunately this is not one of them. 

I hate to be negative. Okay, time to bring in the good stuff. 
Oh...my. Sometimes all it takes is a product that does WHAT IT SAYS it does to get me excited. I'm so lame sometimes and I'll be the first to call myself out. Ladies (and gentleman..maybe?) this needs to be your next dry shampoo purchase. Trust me!
I am on day 3 (and that means of no washing for those of you who aren't following) and here are a few of my results...
1. Non greasy hair
2. Clean, fresh & light scented
3. Extra volume (yes please!)
4. Added texture
Best of all...I paid $12 for this. That is almost half of the other product. Kind of... math isn't my strong point. BUT..I noticed this was listed at $8 for a lot of online retailers. Even better!! 

I am ecstatic about this stuff. Easily my favorite dry shampoo...ever. 
Don't judge me, but I might even push the limits and see what Day 4 brings. Wish me luck! 

*For those of you who are curious, YES... I still shower. It's called a shower cap, people. I didn't abandon basic hygiene. 


Do yourself a favor and get out there and get a bottle of Batiste! Also... they make it in color specifics. I haven't tried it yet but that might be next. I love it!

Stay tuned for a recap of the best blow out I have had (thus far!) and more exciting reviews! 

Happy Thursday!


XOXO,